West Virginia



Board of Zoning Appeals

The Board of Zoning appeals meets in the Bolivar Community Center on an "as needed" basis. The archived minutes for these meetings can be found here.

Board of Zoning Appeals Members:
John Krywcun, President
Brad Whitehurst, Vice President
Phillip Hale

The Planning Commission meets the fourth Monday of every month at 7 p.m. at the Bolivar Community Center on Panama Street. The office is open at 6:30 p.m. for information, forms, questions for the Zoning Administrator, and acceptance of applications. Archived meeting minutes can be found here.

Meeting Agenda:
November 27, 2017

Bolivar Planning Commission Members:
Stephen Paradis, President &
Town Council Representative
Randall Hughes, Secretary
Barbara Staats
Deb Hale
​Daniel Chiotos​
​Mike Lowrey

Bolivar Planning Commission Staff:
John Garza, Zoning Administrator and Building Inspector
Laura Whittington, Town Administrator and Planning Commission Clerk

Bolivar Planning Commission Documents:
Comprehensive PlanZoning Ordinances
Building Ordinances
Killam and Ashbaugh Ordinances
Land Use Map
​Policies and Procedures (building permits, instructions, applications, etc)
West Virginia State Code

West Virginia Links:
West Virginia Planning Association
West Virginia State Government
West Virginia Legislature

Planning Commission

Council meetings are the first Tuesday of every month at 7:30 PM. Meetings are held at the Bolivar Community Center on Panama Street. Archived meeting minutes can be found here.

Meeting Agenda:
February 6, 2018

Office of the Mayor:
Helen Dettmer

Bolivar Town Council Members:
John Paul Heafer, Mayor Pro Tem
Sarah Gordon
​Stephen Paradis
Jerry Powell
Scott Whetsell

P. Jean Reed

Town Administrator:
Laura Whittington

Administrative Assistant:
Ashley Whittington

Maintenance Personnel:
John Garza

Town Council